Skip to main content

Jargon Buster

Robert Myers neurological and dementia care

We at The Marbrook Centre, with our fellow professionals at the National Health Service love an acronym (NHS!) So if we ever fall into the bad habit of using abbreviations in conversations, please tell us to stop. Meanwhile, here is a useful
A to Z ‘health-speak’ guide.

  • ABI

    Acquired Brain Injury

  • AHP

    Allied Health Professional

  • ALS

    Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis also known as Motor Neurone disease (MND)

  • CQC

    Care Quality Commission – the independent regulator of health and social care in England, who monitor, inspect and rate hospitals, GPs and care homes, for their fundamental standards of care. These inspections are then rated as Outstanding, Good, Requires Improvement or Inadequate.


    Commissioners for Quality and Innovation – are targets local NHS commissions can set, to drive and reward excellence for achieving specific care goals.

  • DoLS

    Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards – are amendments to the Mental Capacity Act 2005, allows restraint and restriction to be used, but ONLY if they are in the person’s best interest.

  • FTD

    Frontotemporal Dementia, original known as Pick’s disease.

  • LD

    Learning Disability – living with a learning disability means you find it harder to learn certain life skills.

  • MDT

    Multi-Disciplinary Team – a group of clinical professionals working together to provide the best care programme.

  • MH

    Mental Health

  • MMSE

    Mini Mental State Examination – is a sensitive and reliable 30 point questionnaire that can help to establish the level of cognitive impairment.

  • MND

    Motor Neurone Disease – is a rare condition that progressively damages parts of the nervous system, leading to muscle weakness and wasting.

  • MTC

    Major Trauma Centre – 26 established in England of which 22 treat adults, each linked to a number of supporting Trauma Units (TUs)

  • OT

    Occupational Therapist – assessment and treatment to maintain or recover daily living skills.

  • PEG feeding

    Percutaneous Endoscopic Gastrostomy – is a way of introducing food and fluids via a thin tube passing through the skin and into the stomach.

  • PRN

    Pro Re Nata – is a Latin phrase describing medicines that are taken ‘as needed’.

  • RC

    Responsible Clinician – is the person who has overall responsibility for the care and treatment of an individual being assessed and treated under the Mental Health Act.

  • RM

    Rehabilitation Medicine

  • RMN

    Registered Mental Health Nurse

  • RN

    Registered Nurse

  • RP

    Rehabilitation Prescription – a document detailing the rehabilitation needs of a severely injured individual.

  • RR&R

    Recovery, Re-enablement and Rehabilitation

  • SaLT

    Speech and Language Therapist – assess and treat speech, language and communication problems.

  • SOVA

    Safeguarding of Vulnerable Adults – is to protect any person aged 18 or over from abuse. Forms of abuse include; physical abuse, psychological or emotional abuse, financial abuse, neglect, professional abuse, sexual abuse, racism and sexism. The Cambridgeshire Adult Safeguarding Team can be contacted on 0345 045 5202 or

  • SRP

    Specialist Rehabilitation Prescription – a document detailing the rehabilitation required for those with more complex needs.

  • TARN

    Trauma Audit Research Network

  • Trauma CAG

    (NHS) Clinical Group for Major Trauma – which reports recommendations to the Department for Health (England) for a coordinated pathway of care.

  • TUs

    Trauma Units – see MTC – Major Trauma Centres.


    United Kingdom Rehabilitation Outcomes Collaborative – the national database for specialist rehabilitation.

The Marbrook Centre Sign

Our latest news

Read more News
cqc-logo CQC regulates Marbrook Limited to provide care at The Marbrook Centre Click Here